The Senate is the most important organ of University self-governance. The Senate decides on cross-department matters of key importance - on the University charter, the University development plan, the degree programs offered, the research concentrations, appointments and the awarding of academic degrees and honors, promoting women and early career researchers, etc., and passes the University statutes.

The Senate elects the president and vice-president of the University.
The Senate members are elected for four years (University employees) or one year (students); the term of office starts on 1 March (employees) or 1 October (students).

To support the work of the Board of Management and the Senate, the following commissions have been established:


Commission on International Matters

Commission on Information Technology and Digitalization